Discount for "bad" translation?
Thread poster: Kathinka van de Griendt
Kathinka van de Griendt
Kathinka van de Griendt  Identity Verified
Local time: 20:21
German to English
+ ...
Feb 26, 2005

Hello everybody! Yes I know it happens to all of us at some stage, and I know I shouldn't feel too bad about it, but it is my first time and I need advice:
I did a complicated, large translation for an agency. They looked it over, said it was okay and sent it to a proofreader, who also returned it without much ado. Then, 3 weeks later, both the proofreader and I got a mail to say some of the terminology was wrong, would we please correct it. We did. After another 4 weeks I tentatively poin
... See more
Hello everybody! Yes I know it happens to all of us at some stage, and I know I shouldn't feel too bad about it, but it is my first time and I need advice:
I did a complicated, large translation for an agency. They looked it over, said it was okay and sent it to a proofreader, who also returned it without much ado. Then, 3 weeks later, both the proofreader and I got a mail to say some of the terminology was wrong, would we please correct it. We did. After another 4 weeks I tentatively pointed out that payment was overdue. I was told that they were contesting this payment and offered me 2/3 of the original quote. I had up til then not known that they were contesting, nor do I know what is legal in such a case. Any comments would help.
Regards,
Kathinka
Collapse

Evert DELOOF-SYS
Evert DELOOF-SYS  Identity Verified
Belgium
English to Dutch
+ ...
Unacceptable Feb 26, 2005

Kathinka Lavelle wrote: