Gabriel Lyonnet
Gabriel Lyonnet  Identity Verified
Argentina
Local time: 19:06
English to Spanish
+ ...
Dec 14, 2021

Dear prozzers,

An outsourcer yesterday gave me a translation job (which should continue today). He was very happy with the translation itself, but there were some issues with the PowerPoint file I sent. I'm using PowerPoint 2013, and yes, I have very little experience with this software.

It was a 1 slide file (1 page), with two title "boxes" and the main "box" for the body of text (an internal email for all the company). There was also a background image (company logo).
... See more
Dear prozzers,

An outsourcer yesterday gave me a translation job (which should continue today). He was very happy with the translation itself, but there were some issues with the PowerPoint file I sent. I'm using PowerPoint 2013, and yes, I have very little experience with this software.

It was a 1 slide file (1 page), with two title "boxes" and the main "box" for the body of text (an internal email for all the company). There was also a background image (company logo).

As expected, the Spanish translation was longer than the English original, so it would not be centered and "spilled" out of the box space. Avoiding messing with the design as much as possible, I simply added a couple cms to the Height in the "Size of Slide" ("Design" tab).

To be able to do this, I had to either "Maximize" or "Adjust" the slide. I chose the latter. This left me with a "Customized" or "Personalized" slide instead of the "Panoramic" original. Prior to delivery, I noticed the font size had slightly changed, so I just painted all the text, pressed the correct font size, and again adjusted the slide Height. Finally I pressed "Justify Margins" (the original was not justified). It all looked perfectly well.