Gauthier Casimiro
Gauthier Casimiro  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 01:16
English to French
+ ...
Jan 9, 2023

Hello everyone,

I have this agency I have been working with since 2015 in the EN>FR language pair. Good client overall. Friendly PMs, paid on time, reasonable deadlines and conditions overall. And they've been a substantial part of my revenue over the years. It's a client I really don't want to lose.

The thing is: I have kept the same rates since 2015 and with current inflation rates throughout Europe, if I don't raise my rates, I'm losing money. And I can't really affo
... See more
Hello everyone,

I have this agency I have been working with since 2015 in the EN>FR language pair. Good client overall. Friendly PMs, paid on time, reasonable deadlines and conditions overall. And they've been a substantial part of my revenue over the years. It's a client I really don't want to lose.

The thing is: I have kept the same rates since 2015 and with current inflation rates throughout Europe, if I don't raise my rates, I'm losing money. And I can't really afford to earn any less than I have been doing over the last 2 years.

As such I would like to renegotiate my rates with the agency by about 10%, but I'm not really sure how to proceed. Do I tell them the truth? That if they refuse I'll just keep on working with them for the time being, but that if at the end of the year my revenue hasn't significantly increased compared to 2022 I'll have no choice but to leave the industry altogether?

Or do I try to let them think that if they refuse I may stop working with them altogether? (but that sounds like it's as much a threat to me than it is to them)

How do you all proceed with this?

Thanks in advance!
Collapse

Baran Keki

Christopher Schröder
Christopher Schröder
United Kingdom
Member (2011)
Swedish to English
+ ...
Overthinking? Jan 9, 2023

Why don't you just say "I am putting my rates up by 10% due to inflation". Why does anything need to come to an end?