Thread poster: DIANNE BEREST
DIANNE BEREST
DIANNE BEREST  Identity Verified
Montenegro
Local time: 03:10
Spanish to English
+ ...
Aug 31, 2020

Hi guys. Just would like to get your thoughts on this. I'm fairly new to using CAT tools and am currently doing a difficult translation - difficult in the sense that the source text is worded not very clearly. I have to figure out exactly what they're saying before I can translate it. I feel much more confident doing the translation in simple Word format, paragraph by paragraph, erasing each original paragraph as I translate it, than doing the translation in my CAT tool. The segmentation of the ... See more
Hi guys. Just would like to get your thoughts on this. I'm fairly new to using CAT tools and am currently doing a difficult translation - difficult in the sense that the source text is worded not very clearly. I have to figure out exactly what they're saying before I can translate it. I feel much more confident doing the translation in simple Word format, paragraph by paragraph, erasing each original paragraph as I translate it, than doing the translation in my CAT tool. The segmentation of the document in the CAT tool and the lack of a visual of the format (bullets, headings, what came before or after the section) leave me feeling a little blind in an already difficult translation process. I'm just curious if, for those of you who have been working with CAT tools longer, you ever come across this or if you think it's just lack of experience to using a CAT tool. Thanks! (I'm using Memsource, by the way, and you can pull up a visual of the original document, but it's already pre-translated and that doesn't help with the lack of context.)Collapse

Tom in London

Dylan J Hartmann
Dylan J Hartmann  Identity Verified
Australia
Member (2014)
Thai to English
+ ...

Spend more time learning to use your CAT Aug 31, 2020