Thread poster: Paul Rankin
Paul Rankin
Paul Rankin  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 00:57
French to English
+ ...
Aug 16, 2013

I'm looking for some advice on setting up as a freelancer in the US, more specifically Florida.

I will be moving there permanently next month and I would like to get set up and start working again as soon as I arrive.

I'm a permanent resident (green card) with a social security number already.

I'm wondering what exactly do I need to do now to get set up? I've been reading a number of things online, however each give different information and so I'd love
... See more
I'm looking for some advice on setting up as a freelancer in the US, more specifically Florida.

I will be moving there permanently next month and I would like to get set up and start working again as soon as I arrive.

I'm a permanent resident (green card) with a social security number already.

I'm wondering what exactly do I need to do now to get set up? I've been reading a number of things online, however each give different information and so I'd love to hear from someone who has successfully done this in the past.

I also have questions about VAT charges to customers both within the US and in Europe. Help and information on this would be great.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks
Collapse

veratek
veratek
Brazil
Local time: 01:57
French to English
+ ...
an LLC? Aug 16, 2013

Hi, have you looked into setting up an LLC?

As far as I've read, you can begin the process before even going to the US. There are also lots of books on setting one up.

Best,
Vera

Henry Hinds
Henry Hinds  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 22:57
English to Spanish
+ ...
In memoriam
Just start working Aug 16, 2013