US agencies
Thread poster: David Young (X)
David Young (X)
David Young (X)  Identity Verified
Denmark
Local time: 06:25
Danish to English
May 14, 2011

I'm a bit of a newbie as far as US translation agencies are concerned. I've worked for two now and they've both been a pain in the butt as regards payment.
One of them had payment terms of 45 days, which from a European point of view is stretching it as far as it will go, and were then late. Their explanation was that they had to wait for their client to pay first! Astonishing - isn't that illegal in the USA?
The second one was very sneaky - they contacted me through a name that
... See more
I'm a bit of a newbie as far as US translation agencies are concerned. I've worked for two now and they've both been a pain in the butt as regards payment.
One of them had payment terms of 45 days, which from a European point of view is stretching it as far as it will go, and were then late. Their explanation was that they had to wait for their client to pay first! Astonishing - isn't that illegal in the USA?
The second one was very sneaky - they contacted me through a name that has a very good BB entry and then I found myself working for another company in the group who are in fact banned from posting jobs on proz. I didn't find this out until later. The problem here was that they want to pay by USD cheque (how quaint!) and suggested that I set up a USD bank account. When I said "No thanks", I want to be paid via PayPal, they told me they would charge me $10 for the privilege. They also bounced a cheque which I'm still trying to get sorted out.
I've decided not to work for US agencies again.
Am I just unlucky or is this par for the course?

David Young

[Edited at 2011-05-14 21:24 GMT]
Collapse

Tony M
Tony M
France
French to English
+ ...
SITE LOCALIZER
Not all the same, David! May 14, 2011