Thread poster: Grace Hughes
Grace Hughes
Grace Hughes  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 15:02
Member (2009)
German to English
Feb 24, 2011

I've trawled through the forum and have found a number of different pieces of advice about this, differing depending on the country in question. Apologies if this post is therefore a repeat of what has been written before, but I was hoping someone might be able to clarify the situation for me and offer some advice.

I have been contacted by a translation agency in the US, and the non-disclosure agreement states that I am required to certify my translations. I am a UK-based translator
... See more
I've trawled through the forum and have found a number of different pieces of advice about this, differing depending on the country in question. Apologies if this post is therefore a repeat of what has been written before, but I was hoping someone might be able to clarify the situation for me and offer some advice.

I have been contacted by a translation agency in the US, and the non-disclosure agreement states that I am required to certify my translations. I am a UK-based translator working from German into English. From what I can gather, as I hold a diploma from the IOL and am also a member of the Institute, it is sufficient in the UK to self-certify my translations by including a signed (and possibly stamped???) form with my translation attesting to the fact that the translation is, to the best of my knowledge, a true and faithful rendering of the original text.

Can anyone confirm that this is definitely the case? And if so, will this also be sufficient for translations for clients in the US, as in this particular case, and also for clients in Germany, where the majority of my work actually comes from? If so, does anyone have any tips about how the self-certification form should appear and what should be included? And of course, if the procedure is different for the US/Germany, can anyone tell me how to go about it?