NAATI certified translation rejected at Service NSW
Thread poster: Rosalind Walsh
Rosalind Walsh
Rosalind Walsh
Local time: 18:07
Spanish to English
Oct 9, 2017

Hi there
I have been a freelance translator for 20 years in Sydney Australia. Just last week a client rang me because I translated her Driving Record and the RTA (Service NSW) would not accept it because they only accept translations from Multicultural NSW! This has never happened to be before, so I went up to the RTA and sure enough their form states:

"Documents not written in English

If your overseas licence or confirmation letter is not written in English, you
... See more
Hi there
I have been a freelance translator for 20 years in Sydney Australia. Just last week a client rang me because I translated her Driving Record and the RTA (Service NSW) would not accept it because they only accept translations from Multicultural NSW! This has never happened to be before, so I went up to the RTA and sure enough their form states:

"Documents not written in English

If your overseas licence or confirmation letter is not written in English, you must provide an official translation.

Translations are only acceptable if they are from:

Multicultural NSW (previously Community Relations Commission of NSW) Visit the MNSW website for more information
The Free Translating Service provided by the Department of Social Services (DSS). The free translation service is only available to eligible people. Visit the DSS website for more information.
For South Korean (Republic of Korea) licences only, we accept translations from the Consulate-General of the Republic of Korea, as the Consulate verifies the licence details with the relevant South Korean (Republic of Korea) driver licence authority
For Republic of China (Taiwan) licences only, we accept translations from the Taipei Economic and Cultural Office (TECO), Sydney, as TECO verifies the licence details with the relevant Republic of China (Taiwan) driver issuing authority.