HELP cannot enter glossary term
Thread poster: Nell75
Nell75
Nell75
Sweden
Feb 26, 2021

Hello, I am a complete beginner at OmegaT (and CAT-tools in general). I just started working on my first project in OmegaT (version 4.3.2) and starts to understand a bit how it works. However, a huge problem is that I cannot enter terms in the glossary. Almost every time I mark a word and click on add to glossary, the program stops responding and I have to do a forced restart of the computer! I have tried enter new terms by right clicking on the term as well as using the menu, and it is the sam... See more
Hello, I am a complete beginner at OmegaT (and CAT-tools in general). I just started working on my first project in OmegaT (version 4.3.2) and starts to understand a bit how it works. However, a huge problem is that I cannot enter terms in the glossary. Almost every time I mark a word and click on add to glossary, the program stops responding and I have to do a forced restart of the computer! I have tried enter new terms by right clicking on the term as well as using the menu, and it is the same thing. Even more strange is that it happened a few times that I managed to enter a term without problems, even though I did not do anything differently. What can I do??? My project is a 70 pages long court judgement with lots of terminology that I need to keep track on so I really need to be able to enter glossary terms.
Anyone else had this problem?
Annelie
Collapse

Susan Welsh
Susan Welsh  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 13:49
Russian to English
+ ...
What does your "writeable glossary" file say? Feb 26, 2021

Never heard of such a problem.
Press Control E to get your "Project Properties." Is it possible that the line for "writeable glossary file" is empty?

esperantisto
esperantisto  Identity Verified
Local time: 20:49
Member (2006)
English to Russian
+ ...
SITE LOCALIZER
Workaround Feb 26, 2021

Open the glossary in a (good) text editor and add terms as follows: