A reasonable Korean -> English academic translation rate per source character?
Thread poster: Cononut
Cononut
Cononut
Canada
Oct 11, 2017

Hello fellow translators,

I am a Korean->English freelance translator who recently started working for a major academic translation company. I am still new to the industry, and I would like to ask for advice from experienced freelance translators.

When I first took the translation test and got the contract, I was offered a rate of USD0.025 per source character. Back then I didn't have a clue about what is an reasonable rate, so I just accepted the offer. Having worked o
... See more
Hello fellow translators,

I am a Korean->English freelance translator who recently started working for a major academic translation company. I am still new to the industry, and I would like to ask for advice from experienced freelance translators.

When I first took the translation test and got the contract, I was offered a rate of USD0.025 per source character. Back then I didn't have a clue about what is an reasonable rate, so I just accepted the offer. Having worked on my first six to seven assignments, I am now starting to think might be quite low for the quality of my output. I am translating academic papers in archaeology, history, and economics, and I have authored academic publications in these fields myself in respected English-langauge journals. I have been getting very high ratings in my first few assignments and was quickly moved to a "crosscheck" level where my translations are no longer thoroughly reviewed by internal reviewers and are sent pretty much directly to the client after a cursory check for major errors.

Recently, the company started to send me big jobs with tight deadlines. I am beginning to think that I cannot continue working at this kind of rate. But if I were to negotiate with the company for a raise, what would be a reasonable rate I could demand for my work? Any advice or information would be highly appreciated!