Which importing settings to import a Trados TMX into MemoQ 9.1?
Thread poster: Aude De Lucia
Aude De Lucia
Aude De Lucia  Identity Verified
Local time: 08:36
Italian to French
+ ...
Nov 12, 2019

Hi,
I'm new to memoQ. I'm importing a TMX coming from SDL and I'm not sure of the importing settings I should use because:
- in the help here
https://help.memoq.com/current/en/Places/translation-memory-tmx-import-settings.html
it says that "process TRADOS TMX for best results in memoQ" is for files coming from Trados Translator'
... See more
Hi,
I'm new to memoQ. I'm importing a TMX coming from SDL and I'm not sure of the importing settings I should use because:
- in the help here
https://help.memoq.com/current/en/Places/translation-memory-tmx-import-settings.html
it says that "process TRADOS TMX for best results in memoQ" is for files coming from Trados Translator's Workbench 2007 or earlier" => so, do I have to understand, not for Trados most recent version files? Which import options should I then select, instead?

- on the contrary, in this Help on MemoQ 2015
https://help.memoq.com/2015-100/en/index.html?tmx_import_settings_dialog.html
it says: "Process TRADOS TMX for best results in memoQ: [...] When turned on, memoQ will assume that the TMX file being imported comes from SDL Trados™, and will properly import Trados-specific formatting such as inline tags and RTF formatting codes"

Thanks for your help
Collapse

Samuel Murray
Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
Which version of Trados? Nov 12, 2019

Aude De Lucia wrote:
I'm importing a TMX coming from SDL...

Which version of Trados does this TMX file come from? Are you an experienced user of Trados?

MollyRose
MollyRose  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 02:36
English to Spanish
+ ...
newer than 2007 Nov 12, 2019

"Process TRADOS TMX for best results in memoQ" if the Trados is later than 2007. It worked for me!

Aude De Lucia
Aude De Lucia  Identity Verified