Patricia Lyra
Patricia Lyra  Identity Verified
Brazil
Local time: 06:22
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Aug 19, 2010

Hello,

I am new to Memoq and I was wondering if there was a way to setup a project to work with two source languages.
I have a project which requires me to translate from English to Portuguese and Spanish to Portuguese (I have documents in English, in Spanish and some in both).

Thanks for any help

Patricia

Tomás Cano Binder, BA, CT
Tomás Cano Binder, BA, CT  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 10:22
Member (2005)
English to Spanish
+ ...
Two projects Aug 19, 2010

Patricia Lyra wrote:
I am new to Memoq and I was wondering if there was a way to setup a project to work with two source languages.
I have a project which requires me to translate from English to Portuguese and Spanish to Portuguese (I have documents in English, in Spanish and some in both).

It is not possible as far as I know. Maybe the people at Kilgray can correct me on this, but as far as I am aware you need to create one project per source language. We also do English and Portuguese into Spanish for the same customer, but since each language pair has its memory, it is best to create two projects.

You can however use a multilingual termbase containing all three languages, i.e. the two source languages and the target language, and assign the same termbase to both projects (and of course feed the termbase while you work on each project).

Good luck!

Gusztáv Jánvári

Grzegorz Gryc
Grzegorz Gryc  Identity Verified
French to Polish
+ ...
No sound way... Aug 19, 2010

Patricia Lyra wrote:

IMO, no simple sound way.
No CAT tool on the market is able to distinguish the source language in multilingual dcocuments. so, I suppose, the best way is to tweak MQ and declare both source languages as a fake one.

The Tomás' solution may work if both languages are separated enough.

Cheers
GG

[Edited at 2010-08-19 18:08 GMT]

Patricia Lyra
Brazil
English to Portuguese
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER