Thread poster: Sylvie Cappon (X)
Sylvie Cappon (X)
Sylvie Cappon (X)  Identity Verified
Argentina
Local time: 12:16
English to French
Jan 5, 2015

Hello everyone,

Here’s a non-politically correct question: I am too old to become an interpreter?

I will be 42 in a few months. I am French, I lived in the UK for 8 years and I have been based in Buenos Aires, Argentina for the past 10 years, which makes me trilingual. I have been working as a full-time freelance translator for the past 15 years but I am now looking for a fresh start and to do something else using my working languages.

I am thinking about
... See more
Hello everyone,

Here’s a non-politically correct question: I am too old to become an interpreter?

I will be 42 in a few months. I am French, I lived in the UK for 8 years and I have been based in Buenos Aires, Argentina for the past 10 years, which makes me trilingual. I have been working as a full-time freelance translator for the past 15 years but I am now looking for a fresh start and to do something else using my working languages.

I am thinking about taking the ESIT interpreting exam in March with the idea of eventually joining the UN or European Commission, but really, besides actually passing the exam, how realistic is that? Is ageism a problem in the interpreting industry? Would I be some sort of freak starting as an interpreter at say, 45, and what are my chances of actually finding work and passing UN or EU competitive exams?

Any comments welcome, positive or negative!
Collapse

Phil Hand
Phil Hand  Identity Verified
China
Local time: 23:16
Chinese to English
There are plenty of interpreters in their 40s and older Jan 6, 2015

It's not obvious that your age should be an obstacle! You will need to do a lot of learning of techniques, and it's possible that that process will be a little slower for you, but if you're dedicated it shouldn't be a problem.