João Carrasqueira
João Carrasqueira
Portugal
Local time: 19:14
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Oct 7, 2017

Hello everyone!

My name is João Carrasqueira, I'm 21 years old and I'm from Portugal. I completed a college degree in Administrative Assistance and Translation last year from Instituto Superior de Contabilidade e Administração do Porto, a portuguese institute. Having struggled financially to finish said degree, I decided to not pursue my translation career right away as freelance translating requires a significant investment, so for the past year I've been working a "run-of-the-m
... See more
Hello everyone!

My name is João Carrasqueira, I'm 21 years old and I'm from Portugal. I completed a college degree in Administrative Assistance and Translation last year from Instituto Superior de Contabilidade e Administração do Porto, a portuguese institute. Having struggled financially to finish said degree, I decided to not pursue my translation career right away as freelance translating requires a significant investment, so for the past year I've been working a "run-of-the-mill" job.

But now I'm ready to start taking the first steps in this world. However, I'm completely lost in almost every sense of the word. Freelance work is very intimidating, I'm not sure where to get started or how much I should charge for my work or what kind of jobs I should take.

I do know that I'm extremely passionate about computer technology (including software) and videogames, and I would love to work in those fields. However, I still don't know how to get there. I really need some help getting started, as I'm completely clueless right now. I also would prefer not making significant investments right now, as it still might be a bit of a stretch. If necessary, I would consider sharing some of the profit from my initial jobs in exchange for the guidance I'm looking for.